Rocket League

Rocket League is a unique vehicular soccer video game developed and published by Psyonix. The game uses the Unreal Engine 3. Psyonix initially released Rocket League for only two platforms in July 2014. The first release was for PlayStation4 and Microsoft Windows. Eventually, multiple ports for Rocket League came out for Nintendo Switch and Xbox One, later on. The head designer of the game is Corey Davis. Rocket League has won multiple awards since its release, including the British Academy Games Awards for Multiplayer and many more. Let’s get into some details about the game to get to know it better.

About Rocket League

Rocket League was first released for a few platforms. However, as Warner Bros joined the scene, multiple ports for the game, released for different new platforms. Rocket League also released its versions for macOS and Linux in 2016. However, in 2020, the online support for macOS and Linux dropped for some unknown reasons. Psyonix never gave up on the game and it was always a paid-game. However, in September 2020, Rocket League followed the free-to-play model.

The word Rocket in the name of the game represents the cars in the game with rockets powers. Each game includes eight players in two teams who use rocket-powered cars to play soccer. During the match, each team tries to hit the ball with their cars to put the ball in the opponent’s goal. The game covers all, single-player, and multi-player modes that a user can play online or offline. All the players can also connect with each other regardless of the platform they are using.

A brief history

Rocket League released many updates after its release. Some new game modes were also introduced to keep the game interesting. Rocket League introduced Ice Hockey and Basketball modes in the game. 

Rocket League is a sequel of Psyonix’s Supersonic Acrobatic Rocket-Powered Battle-Cars, a game for PlayStation3 in 2008. Although the game was not a big success and received a mixed input from the fans, Psyonix built a loyal fan base that kept supporting the organization throughout. In 2013, the organization learned from its past mistakes and released Rocket League for the fans. Rocket League received huge praise from the fans as the game improved a lot from its prequel Battle-Cars. The game earned several esports awards and made around 10 million sales and 40 million individual players by the year 2018. Multiple tournaments joined the game like ESL and many more, making Rocket League a designated esports. 

Rocket League Game Modes

Rocket League is famous for its diversity in providing several game modes. A player can choose from up to 11 game modes. These modes either look towards ranked gaming and sometimes unranked. These modes are Solo (ranked/unranked), 2v2 (ranked/unranked), 3v3 (ranked/unranked), Solo Standard (3v3, random team-up), Chaos (4v4, unranked), Hoops (unranked), Snow Day (Unranked), Offline play against the bots, and Local Splitscreen (Online or LAN). 

In a Solo mode, a player connects with another player to either play a ranked match or an unranked match. In a 2v2, players connect in a party of two or you can find a partner online who will join your team against a team of two enemies. Similarly, in a Chaos match, four players get into the field to play against a team of four others. Hoops and Snow Day are the unranked matches from Rocket League. These modes were introduced to make the game more fun. 

Players around the world say that Rocket League’s private matches are the most fun. You can join the offline 2v2 or 4v4 party against your friends where you can play as much as you want.

Winning a ranked match provides you some earned credit through which you can level up your tier level. Rocket League differentiates between the players through different tier levels. The tier levels are Silver Tier, Gold Tier, Blue Tier, and finally the Champion Tier or Purple Tier. These tiers are further classified and players progress through the sub-tiers to jump onto the better tiers. 

Each mode of the game is fun to play. However, playing a ranked match is only recommended when you think you are well off for it. 

Rocket League Tournaments

Rocket League is a well known and accepted Esports game. The game has a huge esports scene and multiple tournaments occur for it every now and then. Throughout the year, the RLCS Season X – ESL Oceanic Championship occurs. This event occurs thrice in a year with almost every changing season. 

There are plenty of other famous and huge tournaments for the Rocket League. Some of them are RLCS Season X – Fall: OCE Major, RLCS Season X – Fall: EU Regional Event, Rocket Baguette: Summer Grand Prix, and many more. The biggest tournament of the year for Rocket League is ‘Rocket League Spring Series’. This tournament’s prize pool crosses around $125,000. The tournament occurs in different regions of the world including Europe, North America, Oceania, and South America.

With the growing popularity of the game, the number of tournaments is increasing for Rocket League. Some of the tournaments also cover the Middle East and Asian region of the world. This represents how likable and famous Rocket League is. The famous Oceanic tournaments for Rocket League are Let’s Play Live Rocket League Oceanic Championship, Gfinity Rocket League Oceanic Master, and many more. The Oceanic region loves the game and that is why multiple esports organizers arrange tournaments in that region.