IPL 2021

IPL Teams 2021

The Indian Premier League is the number one competition in the world regarding the standard of cricket. If you’re looking for excitement, skill, and great entertainment, then the IPL will more than deliver that. Since the inception of Twenty20 cricket nearly two decades ago, the standard and overall spectacle of the shorter format has increased massively, ensuring amazing quality and enjoyment for everyone involved. 

Eight teams will be battling it out once again in order to determine who the number one side really is. Each side consists of excellence, so can be guaranteed that we’ll have top-quality cricket on show during the next couple of months. 

If you’re new to this league or to this sport in general, then you’re probably going to wonder about those involved. Here, we’ll let you know about all eight and the info surrounding them for 2020. If you’ve been a long-time fan and wish to know how things are shaping up this time around, then this can also help you to understand how things are shaping up this year.

Chennai Super Kings

The three-time champs are once again lining up with a stacked group of top performers, as we’d expect. Coached by Stephen Fleming and captained by the legendary MS Dhoni, the Super Kings can expect to challenge for the top honours again this time.

Alongside the captain, the Super Kings will line up with the likes of Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo and Suresh Raina. 

Delhi Capitals

One of Australia’s greatest ever captains, Ricky Ponting, is the man and the brains behind the coaching at the Delhi Capitals. He knew a thing or two about the game of cricket, so it’s not a bad thing to have a man like him in your ranks, of course. The captain leading the line will be Shreyas Iyer once again – we can expect him to perform just as well and set the right example for the rest. 

South African bowler Kagiso Rabada will once again play and look to lead the bowling line. Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw will all return once more for the Capitals.

Kings XI Punjab

Third in the all-time list of wicket-takers in test matches, Anil Kumble, coaches the Kings XI Punjab this year. His captain last year, Ravichandran Ashwin, left the side this year, so K. L. Rahul has taken his place as the skipper. Superstar batsman and all-round personality, Chris Gayle, will line up once again and look to hit the top of the list of run-scorers. Mayank Agarwal and David Miller will also line up. 

Kolkata Knight Riders

New Zealand legend Brendan McCullum is the coach of the Knight Riders once again this year. Dinesh Karthik takes the role of captain again, also. The likes of Carlos Brathwaite, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana and Sunil Narine will also line up and perform.

Mumbai Indians

Coaching the Mumbai Indians this year is the Sri Lankan legend, Mahela Jayawardene. Captain Rohit Sharma leads Mumbai out this term as his troops look to take two titles on the bounce – he will likely be one of the key players and highest run-scorers once again. South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock will look to emulate his excellent scores once again. Lasith Malinga, Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard will all show their faces again.

Rajasthan Royals

The 2008 winners will look to end a twelve-year wait for a title as they line up with an all-star cast ready to take on the challenge. Coach Andrew McDonald, like all the coaches in the league, is spoilt for choice with regards to his group. World-famous, former Australian captain, Steve Smith, leads the Royals out again this year. England stalwarts Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, and Jofra Archer will all play, too. Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson also line up this year. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore

The Challengers’ coach this season, Simon Katich, will, again, be well-known to cricket fans around the world. Worldwide name and all-round world-class cricket, Virat Kholi, leads the team out once again this season. South African AB de Villiers and England international Moeen Ali will also play. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad 

Last year’s captain, Kane Williamson, has left his role as club captain and handed the reins over to leading Australian batsman David Warner. The 2016 champs will be led by coach Trevor Bayliss as they look to battle for the top spot. The wicketkeeper, Jonny Bairstow will show his face, and Manish Pandey will also be involved.